Mount Donna Buang & Warburton

*singing* Do you want to build a snowman? … Yes, I do! 😀

*bernyanyi* Do you want to build a snowman? … Ya, saya mau! 😀

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

I was born and lived in Indonesia for 23 years. Yups, it’s a tropical country where snow doesn’t fall there. So when I knew that I was going to live in Australia, I put ‘playing snow’ on the top of my bucket list. Last week, I finally ticked the list! Thanks to my uncle’s family who brought me to Lake Mountain to see the snow.

Saya terlahir dan hidup di Indonesia selama 23 tahun. Yups, negara tropikal dimana salju merupakan hal yang mustahil di sana. Maka dari itu, ketika saya berangkat ke Australia, saya menempatkan ‘bermain salju’ di urutas paling atas dalam daftar keinginan saya. Akhirnya pada minggu lalu, saya bisa mewujudkannya! Terima kasih untuk keluarga om yang sudah membawa saya ke Lake Mountain untuk melihat salju.

 

 

Sunny day, clear sky without cloud. A perfect weather to travel in winter!

Hari cerah, langit bersih tanpa awan. Cuaca yang sempurna untuk bepergian di musim winter!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESLake Mountain is the second favorite destination for Victoria citizens to play snow after Mount Buller. We traveled for 2,5 hours to get there. I really enjoyed the journey since we passed hills, farms with horses, and small suburbs like Emerald. I rarely find this view in homeland because the regions are too crowded with people and buildings. Here in Australia, the people population is still small.

Lake Mountain adalah tujuan favorit kedua warga Victoria yang ingin melihat salju setelah Mount Buller. Kami berkendara selama 2,5 jam untuk sampai di Lake Mountain. Saya benar-benar menikmati perjalanan menuju Lake Mountain. Sepanjang perjalanan, kami melewati bukit, peternakan kuda, dan suburb-suburb kecil seperti Emerald. Pemandangan seperti ini sangat jarang ditemui di tanah air saya karena wilayah di sana sudah penuh dengan penduduk dan bangunan-bangunan. Di sini, populasinya masih terbilang kecil dengan perbandingan wilayahnya.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

We took a short stop at Fernshaw Picnic Area. When I got out of the car, the temperature was so cold because the location was already near Lake Mountain. While I was stretching, I inhaled the fresh air and I saw some families were having lunch in that park.

Kami sempat berhenti sebentar di Fernshaw Picnic Area. Begitu turun dari mobil, suhu sudah sangat dingin karena kami mulai mendekati Lake Mountain. Sambil meregangkan otot-otot badan, saya menghirup udara yang segar di sana dan nampak beberapa keluarga sedang makan siang di tempat itu.  

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Not long after continuing the journey, we finally arrived in Marysville! The last suburb before we touched down the Lake Mountain, 10 kilometer away. Unfortunately, when we arrived there, the road to Lake Mountain was closed due to over-visiting people and cars. The road would be re-opened at 2pm.

Tak lama kami melanjutkan perjalanan, akhirnya kami sampai di Marysville! Sebuah suburb terakhir sebelum sampai di Lake Mountain yang jaraknya tinggal 10 kilometer lagi. Sayangnya ketika kami tiba di sana, jalan menuju Lake Mountain ditutup karena di sana sudah penuh orang dan kendaraan. Jalan dibuka kembali jam 2 sore.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

Yeah.. waiting for 1 hour plus there was a long queue of cars that also wanted to go to the same place. My uncle then decided to search  another spot around Lake Mountain. By the conventional map, we found a snowy area in Mount Donna Buang which was at an elevation of 1245 metres.

Yeah.. menunggu 1 jam ditambah masih ada antrian panjang mobil yang juga menuju tempat sama. Akhirnya om memutuskan untuk mencari tempat lain di sekitar Lake Mountain. Berbekal peta, kami menemukan area bersalju di area Mount Donna Buang yang terletak 1245 meter di atas permukaan laut.

 

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESFinally, I saw the snow! I was just like a pre-school student who was really excited to see the snow beside the road. We stopped in a street corner that was full of shiny white snow. Wohoo! While my cousins were playing throwing snow, I was busy making Olaf a.k.a snowman in my version. I collected the snow, rocks, and leaf to make the Olaf. This is one of the best moment in my life!

 Dan akhirnya saya melihat salju! Reaksi saya nyaris sama seperti anak TK saat salju mulai terlihat di pinggir jalan. Kami berhenti di sebuah tikungan dengan timbunan salju putih bersinar. Wohoo! Sementara kedua sepupu saya bermain lempar salju, saya asyik membuat Olaf alias snowman versi bikinan saya sendiri. Saya kumpulkan salju, batu, dan daun untuk membuat Olaf. Ini adalah salah satu momen terbaik dalam hidup saya!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

After playing snow, we returned home. On my way home, we visited a suburb named Warburton. In the past, Warburton was a gold mining which was developed by Yankee Jim in 1859. Then he renamed the region  ‘Warburton’ in 1863. Nowadays, Warburton is a tourist center that has a strategic place between mountains.

Setelah puas bermain salju, kami beranjak pulang. Dalam perjalanan pulang, kami mengunjungi sebuah suburb yang bernama Warburton. Dulunya, Warburton adalah wilayah pertambangan emas yang dikelola oleh Yankee Jim pada tahun 1859. Di tahun 1863, ia mengganti nama wilayah tersebut ‘Warburton’. Kini, Warburton merupakan tempat wisata yang lokasinya strategis di antara gunung-gunung.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

In Warburton, I visited some interesting places such as Warburtons Candy Emporium, Art Centre, Visitor Information, and Swing Bridge.

Di Warburton, saya sempat mengunjungi beberapa tempat menarik seperti Warburtons Candy Emporium, Art Centre, Visitor Information, dan Swing Bridge.

At Warburtons Candy Emporium, I was hypnotized by its cute candies. I felt like in Strawberry Shorcake cartoon, haha!

Di Warburtons Candy Emporium, saya serasa terhipnotis oleh imutnya permen-permen di toko tersebut.  Serasa di film kartun Strawberry Shortcake , haha!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

My auntie and I also took a short visit to Warburton Art Centre where there was a market inside. I saw some people selling homemade merchandise, plants and flowers, aroma therapy, etc.

Tante dan saya juga sempat mampir di Warburton Art Centre yang kebetulan sedang mengadakan agenda pasar. Di situ saya melihat beberapa berjualan pernak-pernik buatan tangan, tanaman dan bunga, aroma terapi, dan sebagainya.

 

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Next, I visited Visitor Information. I say this place is always my must-to-visit place every time I go to a new place. There, I can collect some information about the place haha! In Warburton Visitor Information, I found some interesting art works. First, the stairs was built in a unique design. Second, a giant wooden wheel spinning creating a water circulation.

Selanjutnya, saya mengunjungi Visitor Information. Saya bilang tempat ini selalu menjadi tempat wajib bagi saya setiap mengunjungi tempat baru. Di sana, saya bisa mengumpulkan informasi mengenai tempat yang saya kunjungi, haha! Di Warburton Visitor Information, saya menemukan beberapa karya seni yang menarik. Pertama, tangga yang didesain dengan unik. Kedua, roda kayu raksasa yang berputar membuat sirkulasi air.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

Inside the Visitor Information, there was an exhibition called ‘Platypus Walk’. This exhibition gave me some knowledge about the growth of Platypus in Melbourne through an attractive wall design.

Di dalam Visitor Information, terdapat pameran ‘Platypus Walk’. Pameran ini memberi pengetahuan tentang perkembangan Platypus di Melbourne melalui desain ruang yang unik dan menarik.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

Last, Swing Bridge. Yeah…  Lets jump on the bridge!!! Hahaha!

Terakhir, Swing Bridge! Yeah… Mari lompat-lompat di atas jembatan!!! Hahaha!

 

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

Fyi, this trip is a beginning part of my next planned travel called ‘3 States In A Week’. Just the next day after having this trip in Melbourne, I went to Sydney and Canberra to have an amazing adventure there. It’s a good news for you that I will definitely tell my ‘3 States In A Week’ travel story for the next posts! So I’ll see you there, Bloggers!

Informasi tambahan, perjalanan bolang ini merupakan awal dari perjalanan ‘3 States In A Week’ yang sudah saya rencanakan sebelumnya. Sehari setelah kunjungan wisata di Melbourne ini, saya berangkat berpetualang ke Sydney dan Canberra. Kabar baik untukmu karena saya akan bercerita perjalanan ‘3 States In A week’ di kisah selanjutnya! Sampai jumpa di sana, Bloggers!

Leave a Reply

